Upon a restart, Deep Freeze returns your computer to the state it was in when it was last "frozen." On most of our computers it mainly affects drive C: (which includes My Documents, Desktop, Downloads, etc...)
The following locations are safe to save in on a computer running Deep Freeze in our school district:
- Home directory (drive H:)
- The Shared Folders on the network (drive V:)
- Thawspace (drive Z:)
- Any removable storage location (such as a flash drive, an external hard drive, etc...)
Drive H: is located on a networked server and is backed up daily.
Drive V: is located on a networked server and is backed up daily.
Drive Z: is located on the local machine. If your computer's hard drive experiences trouble, this could affect drive Z: thus causing you to lose important data. Drive Z: is meant to be a location you can save to if your computer loses its network connection. Then later, this data can be moved to a different location.
NOTE: Many of our users do use Drive Z: as a regular place to save data. Just remember that if something happens to your hard drive, this data could be affected.